Computers in Cardiology Challenge 2002 Top Scores (Final)

This year's challenge scoring had an unusual twist: scores for event 1 were determined by entries in event 2, and vice versa (see the Challenge overview for details). The outcome of event 2 was determined very quickly. Rather than continuing both events until 20 September as originally announced, we collected event 2 entries until the deadline for official entrants (noon GMT on 30 April) had passed, and then determined final scores for event 1.

If you did not have a chance to submit an official entry, we encourage you to participate anyway; you can still submit classifications of the challenge dataset and receive an unofficial score. Unofficial event 1 entries are also welcome; if there is sufficient interest, we will run a second round of this challenge, using new RR interval generators and a new dataset.

Winners of each event received awards during September's Computers in Cardiology conference, where participants presented their work. The RR interval generators submitted by event 1 participants are available here.

Brief descriptions of the methods used can be viewed by following the links in the tables below to abstracts submitted by many of the entrants for presentation at Computers in Cardiology 2002.

Event 1 (generating RR interval series)

The top scorers in event 1 are:

1192 DC Lin
Ryerson University, Toronto, Canada
2171 Dragan Gamberger, Ivan Maric, Tomislav Smuc, Gordan Bosanac, Nikola Bogunovic, Goran Krstacic
Rudjer Boskovic Institute, Institute for Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation, Zagreb, Croatia
3142 Albert C-C Yang, Cheng-Hsi Chang, SS Hseu, Huey-Wen Yien
Taipei Veterans General Hospital
School of Medicine, National Yang-Ming University, Taipei, Taiwan
4201 PE McSharry, GD Clifford
Dept Maths & Dept Engineering, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK
5 (tie)153 Manojit Roy
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
5 (tie)161 Miguel A. García-González, Juan Ramos-Castro
Instrumentation and Bioengineering Division, Electronic Engineering Department, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain

Event 2 (classification)

Six participants received perfect scores in event 2 before the deadline for official entrants had passed. The winner was Albert C-C Yang, who not only achieved a perfect score on his first attempt, but also submitted the first entry received for event 2, only a few hours after the challenge dataset was posted.

Perfect scores of 100 were received by:

25 Apr
1028 GMT
Albert C-C Yang
National Yang-Ming University, Taipei, Taiwan
25 Apr
1505 GMT
Sang H Yi, Seon H Kim, C Yoo, K Park
Inje University, Korea
26 Apr
1222 GMT
FE Smith, Emma Bowers, Philip Langley, John Allen, Alan Murray
Freeman Hospital, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
26 Apr
1818 GMT
N Wessel
University of Potsdam, Germany
27 Apr
0952 GMT
Tomislav Smuc
Rudjer Boskovic Institute, Zagreb, Croatia
28 Apr
1459 GMT
H Malberg
Karlsruhe Research Center, Germany

Three other teams of participants, who did not receive perfect scores before the deadline, also used novel automated methods to classify the challenge dataset for their entries in event 2 (follow the links to read the abstracts of the papers describing these methods):

GD Clifford, PE McSharry
University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

M Costa, AL Goldberger, CK Peng
Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts, USA

JC Echeverría, MS Woolfson, JA Crowe, BR Hayes-Gill
University of Nottingham, UK